Tags

, ,

Today I went to the dentist after rifling through the “appointment” slot in my family organizer.  I found the appointment card and diligently wrote a note to my son’s teacher letting her know of the appointment and alternative arrangements for the ride home.  I may have even grinned approvingly at myself for just a moment for giving advance notice for once.

Today was NOT our appointment date.  Turns out,  I was looking at last year’s card (still shoved in the “organizer”).

If you were a fly on the wall in my house, you’d know that moments like these happen far more frequently than I’d like to admit.  I’m not one of those legendary all pulled together moms.  Most often, I’m lucky to make it out the door with both kids fully dressed.   9 times out of 10, I’m leaving the house in a frenzy while barking orders at my family.   I’d love for life to slow down just enough for me to catch up with everyone.

But do we ever really catch up?  Probably not.

My kitchen counter will forever be waging a war with the pile of incoming mail, school papers, recipes and life stuff.   Laundry baskets will fill up before I can even get stuff from last week put away.  I will forget to take meat out of the freezer thus initiating a thorough inspection of the pantry in search of something, anything, I can call dinner.  My car will transport wrappers, toys, and crumbs along with my children.  I will employ my now finely-honed sleuthing skills on the hunt for the ever disappearing shoes of my youngest son.

Some days, I can fake it and appear to have it together.  Today is not that day.  Today I am practicing the fine art of flawtabulous-ness.

Are you flawtabulous today too?

