Tags

, ,

I used to work with a woman who religiously brought cake balls to all of our staff parties and celebrations.

Sarah's delicious cake balls--my very first!

Sarah’s delicious cake balls–my very first!

I’m not gonna lie…I easily devoured four cake balls in a matter of minutes.  I’m telling you, it was love at first bite when I gulped down that little ball of deliciousness.  Cake + icing rolled together and dipped in chocolate= dessert in heaven!

Fast forward a few years when the coworker quit her job to be a stay-at-home mom and I moved out of the state.  Could I simply live without them?  No and heck no!!  I HAD to have cake balls!  So, I emailed her and asked for the recipe.  Although my first few batches were less-than-pretty, they sure tasted yummy.

Over time, I perfected my art and cursed less.  Oh, I still drop a few balls  (and occasional F-bombs) into the chocolate and the shape of the balls is sometimes wonky.  But alas, I SAVOR every bite.

If you’ve never had one (is that even possible?), immediately go search the internet for the recipe.  I believe Bakerella was the first to share these round, sweet, melt-in-your-mouth “cupcakes” but don’t quote me.  Oh, and don’t check out her page until you’ve scrolled through mine (because, frankly, my cake pops are a sad, sad mess compared to hers!)

Here are a few examples of cake pops for party themes and holidays:

An owl themed birthday party–oh and I THOUGHT about making them into actual owls but it looked like hard work (and I’m lazy, remember?)

Is it just me or do they look a whole lot better in a cute little tin?

Spider cake pops for Halloween party at school.

You’ll notice I eventually switched methods mid-way with the legs.  Apparently, I’m not very patient when it comes to meticulously adding little sprinkle legs!

These little goodies were covered with a crushed candy canes for Christmas!  Mmmmm….

A nod to winter with some pretty snowflake cake pops

I took a batch of these to a friend whose entire family was sick (poor girl NEEDED them)!

Super Bowl football cake pops

DSC09900

And last but not least, Angry Bird cake pops!  Don’t they look mad?

and yummy?

