Skip to content

Shamrock Shake Down

March 18, 2013

Laughing leprechauns, shimmery shamrocks, radiant rainbows, and glittering gold—what’s NOT to love about St. Patrick’s Day?

 I have a reputation of getting a little crazy around this Irish holiday.

Irish blood courses through my veins and I have more red heads in my family than you can shake a blarney stone at.

My kids are somewhat accustomed to my St. Patrick’s Day antics.  It is, after all, my favorite holiday.

Last year was a full on March Madness frenzy, indeed.

Alas, I learned from my mistake and tried my best to slow it down this year.

Instead of subjecting the boys to 10 days of crafts, I whittled it down to 4.

1.  Crayon/Sandpaper Iron-ons

You’ll never guess which virtual bulletin board site I found this first idea.   The trick to actually DOING what you pin is finding easy examples.  I typically go to the site and read about what the craft entails.  If it gets too complicated, I’m out.  Just like that.

Oh heck, where was I?  Oh yes, so I found this cool post from Alphamom’s blog and loved the idea of using sandpaper to make  iron-on transfers.  I especially enjoy crafts that require few purchases.  If there is any theme to my life, it’s that I’m cheap.  : )

We rounded up some sandpaper, crayons, and t-shirts and the boys set to work coloring their St. Paddy’s Day scenes.

DSC02982

Don’t be shy with the amount of crayon color you use.  You need a lot because the colors come up pretty light.  Make sure kids understand their pictures will print in reverse.  Mine didn’t quite grasp that concept.  : )

Once they finished, I simply placed the sandpaper on the shirt, tucked some cardboard in between, and ironed.

DSC02994

DSC02995

Pretty clever, right?

DSC02999

The boys sported their new duds all week!

DSC02997

2.  Trapping that Little Guy

What St. Patrick’s Day would be complete without the ever-popular Leprechaun Trap.  We’ve now built traps for three year straight and my oldest is beginning to get fussier about his design.  He fretted over every angle and worried that the leprechaun would be too smart and see the simplicity of his trap.

Grasshopper gave it careful consideration to include all the elements that lure little guys–rainbows, green, gold!

DSC03013

All the while, Sonny cut up a piece of red paper into about 1ooo pieces.    He served more as a human hurricane by knocking over craft supplies and scattering markers here, there and everywhere.

Even Daddy joined in the fun.

St pat 2

Catching leprechauns is serious business.

3. Leprechaun Lids

I should have titled this one Epic Fail.

Sometimes ideas in my head are better left in my head.

*sigh*

I’ve seen lots of versions of leprechaun hats made from marshmallows but almost all required a coating of chocolate.  While I love chocolate covered anything, I decided to forgo that step in the attempt to make this activity more kid-friendly.   I opted, instead, to use colored sprinkles.

Theoretically, it would go like this:

Gather supplies–large marshmallows, normal-sized marshmallows, green sprinkles, lollipop sticks and package of Extreme Airheads.

DSC03023

Cut the large marshmallow into thirds (this will serve as the brim of hat).

DSC03024

Skewer the large marshmallow strip, then the regular marshmallow.

DSC03025

Quickly dip marshmallows into a cup of water.

DSC03026

Coat with sprinkles

DSC03027

Cut Extreme Airhead candy into thin strips and wrap at base where the two marshmallows meet.  Secure with a little dab of icing.

DSC03028

However, the marshmallows did not stick together as I hoped.  So, once the boys started adding sprinkles, the marshmallows slid down the stick.  Nothing kept them together.

DSC03032

*Enter the cries of frustration by your children*

After allowing the pops to sit upside down for about 20 minutes, I realized they were NEVER going to stick.

DSC03036

Time for a back up plan.

I busted out some chocolate discs, melted them in the microwave, and spooned between marshmallows to serve as glue.  Whew, saved!

The kids loved them nonetheless.  We had fun (once we adjusted out expectations) and made quite a mess.

DSC03037

Here’s the tasty end result:

St. Paddy's Day leprechaun lids

DSC03045

4.  Leprechaun Lumps

We hosted a little Irish shindig and invited the kids to make “leprechaun lumps”.  The idea was born from watching an infomercial on making dinosaur eggs.

We mixed up  1 cup of used coffee grinds, 1 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of salt, and 1/2 cup of water.  Once mixed together, it forms a dough.  The kids simply knead the dough, insert a treasure (in our case leprechaun’s gold coins), and form into a ball.

Next, you bake the lumps in the oven for about 20 minutes (at 150-200 degrees).

Once the lumps were cool enough to handle, the moms hid them about the house.  The kids had a blast searching for their lumps.

When every child had their lump, they broke them open.  Serious fun!

If you made it this far into my post, you’re a champ!  Thank you!

Now I’m off to take a nap!  St. Paddy’s Day wears me out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Becky B. permalink
    March 18, 2013 6:40 pm

    What an awesome week at your house! So so fun!!

Leave a Reply

Happy Hour is a State of Mind

Thanks to a group of great friends, this is what I believe...and think it should spread worldwide!

merivious

Nonsensical ramblings from an avid Cleveland sports chick

Life and all things Love....

My Blog. My Life. My Words.

stilettos2slippers

If the Shoe Fits...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

